top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJan Thoreen Lewis

Transformational Art

BLOG POST #4

Transformational Art

Since October of 2016 I've been on a powerful inner transformational journey that is impacting every area of my life. As an artist who has the privilege of translating the beauty of nature so others can experience what I experience, I feel compelled to continually step into that role. But what drives the desire?


Here's what I'm figuring out . . .

We are created to live from Vision, but where does that vision come from? There's a verse in the Old Testament that says, "Without a vision the people perish." Living without a vision isn't even an option if we want to live a life of meaning and deep purpose. Otherwise, we're just surviving.

What makes you come alive? What deep desires are in your heart? What purpose wakes you early and gets you to bed late? That answer. That's the Thing. That's where Vision starts.

For me, I am undone by Beauty. My heart comes fully alive when I'm in nature - when clouds, flowers, mountains, shadows, water, or meadows touch my heart, and I just can't keep it to myself. My Big Mouth is my ART. I just have to blurt it out for the world to experience it with me.

That's my Artistic Vision. I am a communicator of glory, of transcendent moments.

So, here's a thing about that which I'm just now grabbing on to . . .

Don't jump in to any artistic expression without first having

an emotional connection with your subject.

It's not a problem to be solved, but a glory to be revealed.

And you can quote me on that . . . as long as you give me credit. In fact, I think I'll quote me.

So, back to Vision. I want to encourage you to let yourself daydream. What would you do if there were no limits of time, money, or opportunity? A version of that is what the world needs. I love this quote . . .

“Twin Lakes Idyll” – 24″ x 36″, framed, $1600 /*Top Image is “Mountain Summer Afternoon” – 22″ x 28″, gallery wrap, $750

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it.
Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”
~ Howard Thurman

Well, there you have it. I couldn't have said it better myself. Go Do That. Go Do THAT! Has it sunk in? You have something to offer the world – in your place and your time in history – that only you can offer. If you don't offer it, no one will. It will remain unsaid, unseen, unknown. And the world will be far poorer for it.

If you've noticed the italicized word you, it's not by accident, it's because this is all about YOU. I can't wait to see what you DO and who you BE!

And just in case you need one more shot . . .

“The glory of God is man fully alive.” ~ St. Irenaeus
1 view
bottom of page