top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJan Thoreen Lewis

Truth Is Not a River

I encountered this thought a few days ago, and it came to me with such power, such assurance and delight, that I just had to share it with you.  I wish I could remember where I heard it, but just know it wasn’t original with me. I’m not this astute or deep.

Arkansas Numbers, 16″x20″, $400 unframed
TRUTH IS NOT A RIVER; TRUTH IS A ROCK. TRUTH IS A ROCK YOU CAN GRAB ON TO, NOT A RIVER YOU HAVE TO FLOW WITH.

Now some people might like for truth to be a river that can vary with any changing whim, desire, or attitude, but for me, that just feels way too arbitrary and unpredictable.  I need some things in this life that I can predict – that the sun will come up tomorrow.  That gravity will keep me from floating off screaming into space.  That God will provide all my needs and it’s not up to me. That good seeds that are planted will produce a harvest.  That if I put in the hours of painting, telling the stories of my art, and connecting, there will be rewards on the other side.  That if I love on all the people in my life in meaningful ways, my relationships will be enduring and strong and people will feel loved and valued.  That if I floss and brush my teeth every day, the scraping and polishing at my next cleaning won’t take as long as last time.

Laughing Water, 5″x7″, $125 matted

So, I’m thinking about this idea in lots of areas of my life and choosing to grab on to Truth and hold on for dear life.  Because I could use truth to hold on to in the way I love my family – is it the way God wants to love them? In the way I serve my husband in his health trials – is it what is needed or just what I’m comfortable with?  In the way I work as an artist – am I creating a plan and working the plan with consistency? And in the way I trust God for fruit from the little He has entrusted me with so He will entrust me with more?

I ask these questions of myself regularly, but having this wonderful analogy of rock and river is really helpful since I’m so visual.  If there’s any area of life where you want to know Truth, just ask. I do that all the time . . . and I get answers! God loves our curiosity and humility.  Just lean in and ask.

I love you all a bunch!  When you get this, Dave and I will be eating our way through Europe on a river cruise and trying to be friendly in languages we don’t know.  At least smiles work in every language!

1 view
bottom of page